Fabulous Friday

Another amazing day. It began early with a beautiful sunrise above the marsh, and melted into a lovely autumn day. At the school pond a flock of white ibis stalked along the water’s edge, periodically dipping their curved bills into the shallow grasses to feed.

Adult

We saw another group strolling along the side of the road at the county park this afternoon, enjoying the warm sunshine as much as we were.

Because it is Friday…and I am typing away at my current fantasy as part of NaNoWriMo with my writing group…I also spent some time staring at the ocean, exploring our local waterways, marshes and islands. So much to appreciate here. And such fertile ground for my wild imagination.

I was a bit surprised to find that harbor seals sometimes visit us even this far south! Didn’t really expect that, but they are such delightful creatures, I am thrilled with the remote possibility of seeing one down here someday; even though they frequent Long Island where some family lives, so I see them there.  A harbor seal pup in Duck. Harbor seals are one of several seal species turning up along the Outer Banks in recent years, according to Coastal Review Online.

Of course, my story veered away from the possible to other realms…sea lions in particular, since there are none on our North Atlantic coast.  Imagine the possibilities with such a gorgeous creature.  Image result for Australian bull sea lion

I do adore fantasies on Fridays…

Leave a Reply

