Letting go…

Finally, after long weeks …months… of stubborn determination that somehow she would hatch her (unfertile) eggs… Scooter gave up.  She pushed her final egg from the nest and came up to the top of her cage to feed for the first time since she began sitting.

Now I have cleared her sad reminder of no much wanted nestlings and she is happily shredding her new bedding.  Welcome back, Scooter.

There has been a lot of ‘letting go’ this month.  Leaving NY and my beautiful daughter, hubby, and Squid there.  Letting go of a many decades old friendship… trying to find the new left within it…and accepting that this introvert must let go and allow ‘new’ friends inside. So outside my comfort zone.  Time for changes.  Time to let go.

And I let go of Khyr.  I finished those first edits and handed him to my beta readers.  So scary.

And then sat here in total disbelief that for the first time in …how long… I don’t have Khyr to keep me company.

EEEK!

It isn’t I don’t have lots of stories started to play with…but the ones I do ‘for fun’ are not my big loves… not my Aerlinn or Khyr.  So Mathias, Ronyn, Nevar, and Luach will wait…and I will play with them each in turn between major writing sprees on whoever comes to fill this enormous void Khyr has left.

And then he came. His name is Truian (True-yen…with a very soft second syllable)  and we are still getting to know each other but I already feel how strong, and stubborn this man is going to be,  And he loves dragons.  Who can resist that?

So in keeping with our introduction to Truian…  dragons for Fantasy Friday.  Enjoy!

eastern dragon:   

Leave a Reply

