Summertime sunshine

Another long fun filled day at work.  Lots of work outdoors, as usual.  Cleaning up, cleaning out.  Putting new plants in.  Mowed, edged, weeded.  All in the blazing high 90s, heat index in the 100s South Carolina sunshine.  And it was good.

In between, since poor Merrill is down with the ick and the meds are making him nauseous, I ran to the store and got club crackers and Coke for the upset tummy, and tuna and catfood for the grumpy cat.

DeeDee wrote me a lovely letter of recommendation which I shall send off to the school system tonight. My ‘plan’  (you know what they say about the best laid plans….)  is to get a part-time or floater position job, if possible, with the County schools.  That would provide the income cushion I am sorely needing and keep me under the earnings ‘cap’ for folks like me.  With my teenager having handily outgrown all his clothes over the summer…I swear the boy is taller than me, so probably 6′ now… I am going to need all the money I can save up to get him clothes and shoes for back to school.

Good news front…for reasons I cannot explain but am delighted with…there is NO flea problem this summer.  Now the dogs are always on their flea/heartworm medications through the vet….but most summers the fleas are still ‘there’… there are always the random ones carried through the yard by a squirrel, coon, or local critter…   The last two months? Nothing!  I am thrilled.  The dogs are the most content and itch free I have seen them in years.  This is wonderful.

And so… off I go to write.  Edits on crit partner’s book are done and now it is time to get Khyr wrapped up.

Isn’t life wonderful?!

Leave a Reply

