RAIN!

it finally happened… the heat wave broke at last with a DELUGE of Biblical proportion last night followed by more abrupt heavy but short downpours today.  The temperatures are down to a very comfortable 98 and the breeze coming in before the storms is wonderful!

I drove around some today…looking at houses. Trying to wrap my mind and emotions around the idea of selling my much loved little house on the island and getting a regular house half an hour or more inland.  I don’t want to move off the island.  I don’t want to live inland.  I like it where I am.  I love the ocean breezes and the smell of pluff mud along the inlets or when I’m driving.  I love that I can have palm trees and never worry about a cold snap/freeze.  Love my lemon tree and my fig tree.  My enormous magnolia and all my live oaks.

Sure I can get the oaks and the magnolia further away from the beach.  I just don’t want to.  

But I need to.  At least I have finally made my peace with that half.  I need to do this the way the gardens needed that rain.  All the watering I was providing just wasn’t enough.  They needed it to rain….and soak them down to the deepest levels of their being.

My kids need that now.  More than I need my ocean… well, maybe not, LOL.  But they are young and this is their time and I need to provide what they need.  Like that rain.  To fill them to the core of their being and help them grow.

So I looked.  Nothing feels right.  Nothing feels like ‘home’.  I will figure out how to deal with that and pick the place that feels like home to them.  And maybe, someday, when they are grown… I will find my home once more.  And Red Dog and I will run the beach once more.

But for now…. we have RAIN!  Let the dancing commence.

Leave a Reply

