Intertidal Magic

My friend, Melodye Shore, is quite the Renaissance woman… a gifted writer, an amazing photographer, a friend to bees, hummingbird ‘whisperer’, and now a budding expert on the intertidal zone, tidal pools and their amazing inhabitants.

So imagine my delight tonight when, in my usual eclectic way, I was perusing all the weird and widely divergent things that amaze and delight me…and here was this fascinating article on a critter from her neck of the woods… the lovely Lined Shore Crab.

http://awesomeocean.com/2016/12/28/meet-dr-jekyll-mr-hyde-intertidal-zone/

Shore Crab

Immediately I thought of Melodye…and how magical such small places as our tidal pools are…on her western shore or here on the shores of the Lowcountry, or in other countries around this tiny blue world of ours.  So much precious life.  So much we don’t yet understand.  So much magic to be lost if we don’t protect it fiercely.

I vote for magic.  The more we can find and share… the richer our world….and our lives….become.

 

 

One thought on “Intertidal Magic

  1. Awwwww, I love that our lives (our curiosities and passions) intersect as they do!!! So much fun, to learn more about our world through someone else’s lens, and to share the things that are local to us…

    I’ve seen the Lined Shore Crab at our Laguna Beach tide pools. Cagy, funny creatures, so well-suited for their SoCal habitats….! Looking forward to seeing critters that hang out in your neck of the world!

Leave a comment